Late Edelweiss Review! Oops

First I need to apologize to both Edelweiss and Sourcebook Fire for this late review. Life has been a bit hectic. I will strive to do better in the future.

A Danger to Herself and Others by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

A Danger to Herself and Others

by

Alyssa B. Sheinmel (Goodreads Author)
Girl, Interrupted meets We Were Liars in this gripping new novel from New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel.

Four walls. One window. No way to escape.

Hannah knows there’s been a mistake, She doesn’t need to be institutionalized. What happened to her roommate at that summer program was an accident. As soon as the doctor and judge figure out that she isn’t a danger to herself or others, she can go home to start her senior year. Those college applications aren’t going to write themselves. Until then, she’s determined to win over the staff and earn some privileges so she doesn’t lose her mind to boredom.

Then Lucy arrives. Lucy has her own baggage, and she’s the perfect project to keep Hannah’s focus off all she is missing at home. But Lucy may be the one person who can get Hannah to confront the secrets she’s avoiding-and the dangerous games that landed her in confinement in the first place.

 

REVIEW

I would like to thank Edelweiss and Sourcebooks Fire for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

4.5-49. stars.

This book was amazing! I am obviously feeling stingy this year as really this should be a 5 star but for some reason, I can’t click that last star.

I really loved this story. Hannah was, for the most part, a very relatable character. She had me guessing from the beginning what was happening and eventually what was wrong with her.

I felt so bad for Hannah. Her parents are obviously not good parents. Probably a lot of people would see them as good parents because they took care of her financially but obviously, they lacked in a lot of other areas. 😦

I wasn’t keen on the doctor at first. ‘Lightfoot’. She seemed uninterested and not caring. But she grew on me.

Last Minute Edelweiss Approval!

I got approved for 

Of Fire and Lions

Of Fire and Lions

by

Mesu Andrews (Goodreads Author)
The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers’ Mark of the Lion series.

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she’d perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar’s court. Now, as Daniel’s wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she’s safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear–until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar’s palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili’s tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone?
Ultimately, Yahweh’s sovereign hand guides Jerusalem’s captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

 

❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

 

I liked her book

The Pharaoh's Daughter (Treasures of the Nile, #1)

The Pharaoh’s Daughter

(Treasures of the Nile #1)

by

Mesu Andrews (Goodreads Author)
“Fear is the most fertile ground for faith.”

 

 “You will be called Anippe, daughter of the Nile. Do you like it?” Without waiting for a reply, she pulls me into her squishy, round tummy for a hug. 
I’m trying not to cry. Pharaoh’s daughters don’t cry.
When we make our way down the tiled hall, I try to stop at ummi Kiya’s chamber. I know her spirit has flown yet I long for one more moment. Amenia pushes me past so I keep walking and don’t look back. 
Like the waters of the Nile, I will flow.

Anippe has grown up in the shadows of Egypt’s good god Pharaoh, aware that Anubis, god of the afterlife, may take her or her siblings at any moment. She watched him snatch her mother and infant brother during childbirth, a moment which awakens in her a terrible dread of ever bearing a child. Now she is to be become the bride of Sebak, a kind but quick-tempered Captain of Pharaoh Tut’s army. In order to provide Sebak the heir he deserves and yet protect herself from the underworld gods, Anippe must launch a series of deceptions, even involving the Hebrew midwives—women ordered by Tut to drown the sons of their own people in the Nile.
When she finds a baby floating in a basket on the great river, Anippe believes Egypt’s gods have answered her pleas, entrenching her more deeply in deception and placing her and her son Mehy, whom handmaiden Miriam calls Moses, in mortal danger.
As bloodshed and savage politics shift the balance of power in Egypt, the gods reveal their fickle natures and Anippe wonders if her son, a boy of Hebrew blood, could one day become king. Or does the god of her Hebrew servants, the one they call El Shaddai, have a different plan—for them all?

 

So I’m hoping I’ll also like this one!